European Union

The EU Regulation (1143/2014) on invasive alien (non-native) species first 37 species listed;

On 14 July 2016 the European Commission published Commission Implementing Regulation 2016/1141 which sets out an initial list of 37 species to which EU Invasive Alien Species Regulation 1143/2014 will apply. The associated restrictions and obligations will come into force on 3rd August 2016. All of these species have been accepted as meeting agreed criteria concerning their invasiveness and ability to establish in several Member States.
The aim of this new regime is to prevent or manage the introduction, or spread, of invasive non-native species across the European Union. In order to achieve this aim the EU Regulation requires Member States to put in place surveillance and rapid response mechanisms and to develop management action plans.
Listing imposes restrictions on the commercial keeping, sale, and transporting of the listed plants and animals, and their intentional breeding or release. A permit scheme will be in operation to allow derogations from some of these restrictions (other than their release) but only in very limited circumstances.

The 37 Species Listed are;


American Skunk cabbage
Asiatic tearthumb
Curly waterweed
Eastern baccharis
Floating pennywort
Floating primrose
Green cambomba
Kudzu vine
Parrot’s feather
Persian hogweed
Water hyacinth
Water primrose (2 species)
Whitetop weed


Amur sleeper
Asian hornet
Small Indian mongoose
Bryant’s fox squirrel
Chinese mitten crab
Eastern crayfish
Grey squirrel
Indian house crow
Marbled crayfish
Muntjac deer
North American bullfrog
Pallas’s squirrel
Red eared slider
Red swamp crayfish
Ruddy duck
Sacred ibis
Siberian chipmunk
Signal crayfish
South American coati
Topmouth gudgeon
Virile (northern) crayfish




Other Sources of Information;
Invasive Species Ireland

Invasive Species Ireland